Posted by: Emily | February 18, 2009

Love my husband

Another meme but this one is about Frenchie.  Heather at Dooce.com did it and since she is my blogging hero I thought I would mimic her.  

What are your middle names?
My middle name is Theresa (my great-grandmother) and his is Henri.  

How long have you been together?

Define “together.”  But I guess it’s been about 5 years.  Married 9 months tomorrow!

How long did you know each other before you started dating?

We worked together for a year before we started dating but I was scared of him.  He worked in the back corner of the lab and sometimes I heard yelling.

Who asked whom out?

He asked me.

How old are each of you?

I am 27 and he is 37.  I have to say I was really happy to see that Dooce’s marriage is similar.  Gives me hope that 10 years isn’t a problem.

Whose siblings do you see the most?

I have one brother and he has one sister.  Each live 3000 miles away in separate directions.  But we definitely see my brother more.  Because Oregon is way cooler than France.  : ) 

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?

Paperwork.  Frenchie is allergic to all sorts of form filling so doing taxes, applying for green cards, paying bills, etc can all be a little trying.  I probably also do annoying things that cause problems but for the life of me I can’t think of any.  Hmm, he’ll have to do his own meme.

Did you go to the same school?

No, not even close.  But we do both have degrees in biochemistry.  Of course his is a PhD while mine is a BA.  

Are you from the same home town?

Nope.  I grew up mostly in Portland, Oregon and Frenchie grew up in Paris, France.  Hence the nickname, Frenchie. 

Who is smarter?

That is a loaded question.  I would have to say Frenchie is smarter because he, you know, cures cancer and stuff AND is bilingual.  How cool is that?  But I’m no dummy either.  I think our kids are going to be bilingual geniuses.  

Who is the most sensitive?

If sensitivity is measured by tears, that would be me.  

Where do you eat out most as a couple?

We like a lot of variety and don’t really have a favorite restaurant in Boston.  We used to go to Pomodoro a lot because it is probably the closest restaurant to our apartment and they know us and give us free stuff.  But we haven’t been in a while because they increased their prices.  Now we go to the BBQ restaurant a lot.  

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?

France.

Who has the craziest exes?

That would be me.  I think.  I don’t really know much about his exes.  

Who has the worst temper?

Definitely him.  I am totally incapable of yelling.

Who does the cooking?

While I was studying for the bar Frenchie did all the cooking.  Now I cook during the week and he usually cooks on the weekends.  

Who is the neat-freak

Neither of us are super neat.  Definitely not freaks.  But he gets the cleaning bug more often than I do.  

Who is more stubborn?

I refuse to answer this question!

Who hogs the bed?

Gizmo the cat.  She has this way of sleeping that pushes us all over the bed and we end up in really weird positions in the morning.  If there is no cat, then I am the hogger.  Well, I am a kicker which isn’t really the same.  Not my fault if he has to scoop over so I don’t kick him.  

Who wakes up earlier?
I wake up earlier and am definitely more of a morning person.  Frenchie can’t do anything for at least an hour after waking up.

Where was your first date?
I don’t exactly remember, but I remember the first time we ate a meal together was at the Enormous Room in Cambridge.  

Who is more jealous?

Neither of us has the jealousy thing.  Yet.  

How long did it take to get serious?

Are we serious now?  

Who eats more?

We are both bottomless pits but Frenchie can skip meals while I begin to gnaw on my arm if I have a late lunch.

Who does the laundry?

Frenchie is “allergic” to the laundromat.  It brings out that temper we talked about earlier.  So now I do it.  Maybe when we get a place with a washer and dryer (I can’t wait!!) we will share the responsibility. 

Who’s better with the computer?

The man. 

Who drives when you are together?

It’s pretty even but driving together is kind of a nightmare no matter who is driving.  His temper freaks me out while he is driving and he just thinks I drive strangley.  Let me just say, the only times I have hit something with a car have been with him in the car.  He makes me nervous!  So maybe he’s right, I can’t drive when he is there.

Responses

  1. I love this one! I read the one on Dooce yesterday also and thought it would be fun to read others!

    I miss you – I wish you could come to our knitting circle on Tuesday night. I am making a scarf. With Cables. Woo!

  2. i love Dooce too! her book tour is coming to Powell’s in March. I’m TOTALLY going.

  3. Haha – I just read this on dooce too and am so excited to see her when she comes to Portland! You should come back and go with me and marie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

