Posted by: Emily | February 15, 2009

Gnocchi finale

The gnocchi experiment did not go so well.  I mean, I thought they were tasty but the texture was off.  I think I didn’t use enough flour.  Oh well, I’ll try a different recipe next time.  

The lamb ragu was amazing however!  The next day we ate it with some whole wheat couscous and it was perfect.  Yumm.  The recipe I used has very few ingredients.  I added an onion and two carrots to make it a little more substantial and the flavors were really amazing.  Here is the recipe I used and below is the recipe with my additions.

Ragù

  • 6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
  • 1 6-inch-long fresh rosemary sprig
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 pounds lamb stew meat, fat trimmed, meat cut into 3/4-inch chunks
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 pound plum tomatoes, cored, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup (or more) water
  • 1 teaspoon salt

For ragù:
Heat oil in large pot over medium-high heat. Add onions and carrots and cook until onions are transparent, about 5 minutes.  Take out onions and carrots with slotted spoon and set aside, leaving the oil in the pan.  Add garlic, rosemary, and bay leaf; sauté until garlic is golden, about 1 minute. Sprinkle lamb with salt and pepper. Add lamb to pot; sauté until browned, about 8 minutes. Add wine; scrape up browned bits. Stir in tomatoes, the cooked onions and carrots, 1 cup water, and 1 teaspoon salt; bring to simmer. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer until lamb is tender, adding more water if needed for saucy consistency, about 1 1/2 hours. Season with more salt and pepper, if desired.

Serve over gnocchi or couscous!

Responses

  1. I want you to come home and cook for me, I’m starving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

