Posted by: Emily | February 4, 2009

Bring on the HBP

White coat syndrome.  Have you heard of it?  Every time I go to the doctor the nurse takes my blood pressure and pulse, both of which are off the charts and I explain that I have a little anxiety about the doctor.  “Ahh, white coat syndrome” they say.  “Why are you afraid?  There is nothing to be afraid of!”  After rolling my eyes and passing the urge to knock their heads off, I now know to ask the nice nurse to take my blood pressure after the appointment is over so that they don’t try to put me on medication.  It always goes down.  

I have NO idea why I have this problem.  I have no logical reason to be afraid of the doctor.  I’ve never been sick, I’ve never been too abused by a doctor, but yet, right now, just thinking about my appointment tomorrow, my heart is racing.  Well, maybe I have one reason.  A few years ago I had this horrible doctor named Fern Starr in Brookline.  She was my first doctor on the East Coast and she was (and probably still is according to her online reviews) the bitchiest doctor I have ever met.  When I would tell her a problem she would tell me that didn’t sound like a problem but if I really wanted me to she would look into it.  

The last time I saw her I was in the office to get my blood taken for a cholesterol check.  It was a fasting cholesterol so I hadn’t eaten breakfast and I fainted after the nurse took my blood.  I had never fainted before so I was definitely not expecting that.  I woke up on the floor with Fern sitting above me.  Then I proceeded to go into shock.  I couldn’t move my arms or legs which freaked me out a bit.  Fern started yelling at me to calm down and then called an ambulance because she didn’t have time to deal with this.  Um, sorry, I didn’t really mean to pass out!  Excuse me for wasting your time bitch.  

Now that I am back in Boston I had to try to find another doctor.  Of course, I called the hotline and the doctor they found me was…Fern Starr!  I said no way Jose and now I’m going to some random intern at the hospital.  Anything is better than Fern.  

I have recovered from this experience and have had my blood taken since without passing out, but I still hate going to doctor.  This is why I am seriously considering living close to my friends who are becoming nurses and doctors so I don’t have to deal with this anymore.  

Hopefully nothing catestrophic will happen tomorrow to further scar me. I just need some medication refilled.  How badly can it go?  

Do you have any crazy doctor stories?

Responses

  1. Awww sweetie, you’ll do fine! Fern sounds like a heinous bitch for sure! I would take a random intern any day over someone who acts like that to her patients!

    This didn’t happen to me specifically, but at the SOU campus health center, the doctor there was a total perv jackass and every time a female would go in there with a sore throat he would ask them how many times they had performed oral sex in the last month!!!! He told my friend Colleen she just needed a gonorrhea test for her sore throat!

    Yeah. She was in the ER two days later with strep.

  2. That is hilarious! Campus health centers are the best.

  3. hey, it’s not as easy as it looks! I’m sorry you had such a bad experience. be nice to the poor intern! they might not seem nice, but they are either trying hard or they are suffering too much to try. really. I hope your appointment is not too long or too traumatic this time.

  4. It definitely doesn’t look easy! I don’t know how you do it. But you’re right, I should be nicer. : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

