Posted by: Emily | January 22, 2009

Let’s Talk About Your Duties

I had a job interview yesterday and while I was going over my lines in the T on the way there I decided my only goal was not to make stupid jokes.  I tend to talk a lot and make uncomfortable jokes when I’m nervous.  I don’t think these blurts have cost me jobs but I always feel a little icky afterwards.  Like I said a little too much.  

It reminded me of this hilarious Friends episode where Chandler learns how to act on a job interview.

And then almost makes it. : ) 

I did manage to not embarrass myself this time but I left feeling boring.  We’ll see what happens.

What do you think?  Jokes at an interview a good thing?  Or boring is better?

Responses

  1. I say jokes in moderation can take the edge off…you just have to read the person interviewing to see if you think they are going to laugh with you…oh, and no racial or inappropriate jokes!!

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for you on the job!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

