Posted by: Emily | January 13, 2009

A virtue? Really?

“Adopt the pace of nature; her secret is patience”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

When we are young children we have none.  The elderly seem to slowly lose it as well.  So I guess middle life is the right time to practice one of the hardest things for me.  Being patient.  I am accepting but not patient.  I will accept that life is not how I want it to be.  My body is not what I want it to be.  My career is not…well, it is just not.  I can accept these things and adapt to live with them or try to change them.  But when it comes to situations out of my control, or waiting, I would rather slam my head against a wall.  Oh yeah, and I get really cranky.  

I am not going to go into why I am in such need of this patience right now.  I still haven’t figured out how much to divulge on this blog.  I want to say enough that it is interesting but not so much that I make enemies.  But let’s just say, marriage requires a lot more patience than I was expecting.  : ) 

I think I prefer Gandi’s approach to patience.  

“Patience is self-suffering”

Right on Gandi!  Screw you Emerson.

Responses

  1. I would like to second your sentiment: “screw you Emerson”

    Situations have also required that i have a large amount of patience, right now and I have resorted to kickboxing….there’s nothing like throwing punches to make you feel better!


Leave a Reply

Categories

