Posted by: Emily | December 29, 2008

New Year’s Quiz

I got this quiz from All & Sundry.  Reply with your own answers or a link to your website if you answer them there!  

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?  

Got my law degree, passed the bar exam, got married.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I mostly kept my resolution (to not encourage my hypochondria by googling symptoms) and I think I’ll make the same one next year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? no

4. Did anyone close to you die? no

5. What countries did you visit? France

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

A JOB!!!

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

May 19th, my wedding day. November 4th, election day.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Definitely passing the bar exam. That test is kinda hard.  And taking step aerobics class after many years of being too intimidated.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not getting my shit together and finding a job before the economy took a total nosedive.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I had a cold for 10 days. That’s unheard of for me. So really the answer is no.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

An ipod touch for Frenchie. Hours of entertainment.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

The cats getting along. Oh yeah, and Obama winning.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Way too many to count or recount.

14. Where did most of your money go?

BarBri.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Obama winning the election!

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

Beyonce maybe?  Not really sure.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? fatter
c) richer or poorer? richer (amazingly)

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  

Spent time with friends.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? 

Mindless internet searching.  Eating.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With my family in Oregon.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

Yes!

22. What was your favorite TV program?

How I Met Your Mother

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Yes
24. What was the best book you read?

Eat Pray Love

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Sonya Kitchell
26. What did you want and get?

A kitchenaid mixer!!  A wii!
27. What did you want and not get?

Kitchen stuff like new measuring cups, flour and sugar containers, pastry bag.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

I’m going to say Slumdog Millionaire because I just saw it and loved it but there might have been one I liked more.  

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I saw Elizabeth Gilbert speak on my birthday which was very inspiring.  I turned 27.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A job!

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

Old clothes that I have had forever combined with new pieces that hide the 20 pounds I’ve gained.

32. What kept you sane?

Exercise exercise exercise.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Obama!!  That’s easy.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The election of course. 

35. Who did you miss?

Everyone.

36. Who was the best new person you met? 

I can’t think of any new people I met this year.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

Don’t sweat the small stuff.  Go with the flow.  Stop freaking out so much!

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“N-n-now that that don’t kill us, can only make us stronger” 

– Kanye West

Leave a Reply

Categories

